TYC Book Club Books Selected for 2018

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Reading Selections for 2017 Reading Season

We want to thank everyone who attended book club meetings last season. We have had a good turn out, and  we have been happy to see everyone, whether you have been able to attend one meeting or all of them. The discussions have been lively, thoughtful, and always interesting. And beyond the pleasure of the books and the discussion, there is the pleasure of getting to know one another better.  Thanks to all of you for making the book club such a successful part of TYC.


Denise David and Linda Maddigan



March Meeting:   Sunday, March 12th   12:00-1:00 p.m.

at Linda Maddigan's home. Call Linda for directions.



  Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien

 Madeleine Thien's novel Do Not Say We Have Nothing is shortlisted for the 2016 Man Booker Prize.

The book is described this way by Good Reads:
"Madeleine Thien's new novel is breathtaking in scope and ambition even as it is hauntingly intimate. With the ease and skill of a master storyteller, Thien takes us inside an extended family in China, showing us the lives of two successive generations--those who lived through Mao's Cultural Revolution in the mid-twentieth century; and the children of the survivors, who became the students protesting in Tiananmen Square in 1989, in one of the most important political moments of the past century


   May 21st at TYC         12:00-1:00 p.m.  

The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Cover art

 The novel is described this way:
 A stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Schindler’s List, and All the Light We Cannot See, about twelve-year-old Hannah Rosenthal’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas asylum they had been promised is an illusion.


  June 25th  at TYC   12:00-1:00 p.m.

The Children Act by Ian McEwan 


The Children Act

NPR review summarizes book this way:

A highly respected London judge hides her decision to separate from a husband who wants an open marriage, a loss that challenges her beliefs throughout a case involving parents whose faith forbids a life-saving transfusion for their son.

  July 16th at TYC          12:00-1:00 p.m. 

Necessary Lies by Diane Chamberlain

Book Necessary Lies by Diane Chamberlain

  From Good Reads~

 "Set in rural Grace County, North Carolina in a time of state-mandated sterilizations and racial tension, Necessary Lies tells the story of these two young women, seemingly worlds apart, but both haunted by tragedy.  Jane and Ivy are thrown together and must ask themselves: how can you know what you believe is right, when everyone is telling you it’s wrong?"

 

 

August 20th at TYC      12:00-1:00 p.m. 

Hillbilly Elegy: Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by J.D. Vance

Image result for hillbilly elegy book The book is described as a "must read" by the New York Times.

 

 

 

 

  The author is a former marine and Yale Law School graduate who writes about his own life growing up poor in America's rust belt. This is a nonfiction book. As always, we will have a gentle discussion of this book in the spirit of understanding the experience of another.

 

 

 

  September 17th at TYC    12:00-1:00 p.m. 

The Sound of Wings: The Life of Amelia Earhart

The Sound of Wings by Mary Lovell

We have selected this book for the Amelia Earhart discussion. There are many books about her life and much speculation about her disappearance, but this book will give us a good basis to understand her better and to more fully understand her relationship with George Putnam, her husband and promoter.

Image result for best book on amelia earhart

Amelia Earhart home page

Please note:

Denise Reichard will do her portrayal of Amelia Earhart  on Sunday, September 10th at the TYC Tea. Tea begins at 12:30. You may sign up at TYC.

The  book club discussion of Amelia Earhart will be a week later on Sunday, September 17th.



October 15th at TYC         12:00-1:00 p.m. 

Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly

Image result for Lilac Girls book covers

Recommended by several Book Club members. This book is based on a true story and takes us into the history of World War II. If you liked Nightingale, you will like this one. We do not usually have two books related to World War II in the same season, but there seemed to be  such strong interest in this one that we have decided to include it.

No comments:

Post a Comment