Friday, January 12, 2018


  Book Club Choices for 2019

  We are happy to say that the TYC Book Club is entering its eleventh  year!  We meet once a month on Sundays throughout the boating season from 12:00 p.m. until 1:00 p.m. in the TYC clubhouse from May through October. We have one winter meeting at a member's home in March of each year.
       
 The book club has become a special part of TYC. Not only is it a good way to talk about books, but it is also a wonderful way to come to know other TYC members and strengthen the bonds of our community. Everyone is always welcome to attend. Below you will find the list of books for this year. We hope you will join us. 
     

         Denise David and Linda Maddigan


Meeting #1.    March 3      Judie Kocher has graciously volunteered to host the meeting at her home from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. 

Please call Judie at 716 625 7192 to RSVP if attending.

Book Choice:  Educated by Tara Westover






We are guessing that you have heard about this book which seems to  have caught everyone's attention. It is the memoir of a young girl who grew up "off the grid" with her survivalist family in Idaho, and yet managed  to leave her family to get an education, eventually a Ph.D. from Cambridge.  It was recommended by many people!


All other meetings are held once a month at TYC Clubhouse on the following Sundays from 12:00 - 1:00 p.m:

Meeting #2.    May 19             The Day the World Came to Town:  9/11 in Gander,  Newfoundland  by  Jim DeFede

The Day the World Came to Town: 9/11 in Gander, Newfoundland

 The book is an uplifting account of 9/11 when 38 airliners were diverted to this  small Canadian town.

Meeting #3   June 30          My Name is Mary Sutter by Robin    Oliveira




 In this work of  historical fiction  set during the Civil War a young midwife works at a Civil war hospital where she  aspires to become a doctor.

Meeting #4.   July 21             Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson






 A story set in a small English village before World War I by the author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand. It has a thoughtful slow pace in the beginning, but keep reading it. It is worth it.




Meeting #5.    Aug 18         Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens





      

From Good Reads~
"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder ."  







 Meeting #6.  Sept 15          The Story of Arthur Trueluv 
                         by Elizabeth   Berg


The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg



A touching story about three lonely people.  Arthur is an eight-five year old widower who visits his wife's grave each day, Maddie is  seventeen year old girl who hides out at the cemetery because she is unhappy at school and Lucille is one of Arthur's lonely neighbors.



Oct 20           TBA  We are considering choosing a classic since several group members suggested this last year! Stay tuned!



















 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 































































Simple theme. Theme images by luoman. Powered by Blogger.

No comments:

Post a Comment