Sunday, November 24, 2019

Book Club Choices 2020 

We are beginning to make the book selections for the new reading season.  We have made our first two selections for those who want to get started early. We will be adding further selections in the next month or so. We select a range of fiction and nonfiction, books that have been recommended by members or books that have been favorably reviewed and books we hope will lead to lively discussions. 

The book club is a wonderful way to get to know other TYC members and to discuss some interesting books. We hope you will join us. Everyone is always welcome.

 Denise David and Linda Maddigan

 

 

Meeting #1               March 8th                     The Library Book 

                                                                          by Susan Orlean

(We hold the March meeting at a member's home. If anyone would like to host the meeting, please let us know.)

 

Image result for Image for The Library Book

 The Library Book begins with an investigation of the fire that destroyed the Los Angeles Public Library, but takes us on a journey following the history of libraries. We think you will enjoy this one.

"Weaving her lifelong love of books and reading into an investigation of the fire, award-winning New Yorker reporter and New York Times bestselling author Susan Orlean delivers a mesmerizing and uniquely compelling book that manages to tell the broader story of libraries and librarians in a way that has never been done before." from Good Reads

Meeting #2.    May 2020     The Jell-o Girls: A Family History

                                                  by Allie Rowbottom

Jell-O Girls: A Family History

  This is a dark history of Jello that has been recommended by several members. Since Leroy, New York is the home of Jello, the book has a local connection.

"A memoir that braids the evolution of one of America's most iconic branding campaigns with the stirring tales of the women who lived behind its fa├žade - told by the inheritor of their stories."  ~from Good Reads

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

TYC Book Club: 2016 Reading Season




TYC Book Club: 2016 Reading Season

Click on Tab at top for 2017 book list

Several years ago, we noticed that in addition to our interest in boating, many members of TYC also share an interest in reading. We decided that TYC members might enjoy having a book club. We were not sure how many people would come, but over the years we have been very pleased with the interest and the participation of club members. We meet once a month during the boating season from May through September,  usually on the third Sunday of the month from 12:00 until 1:00 at the clubhouse, and we have one winter meeting in March at a member's home, which will be announced.


The Book Club has become a special part of TYC. It is a great way to talk about some good books, but perhaps equally as important, it is also a good way to get to know other members of TYC. We have a good time, and we do talk about the books.  We hope you will join us at our next meeting. Everyone is welcome. Hope to see you this season.

Linda Maddigan and Denise David



First Selection for 2016:  March Choice

Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania by Erik Larson
March 15th, 2016 from 7:00-9:00 p.m.


 

It has been over one hundred years since the sinking of the Lusitania, but the interest in the sinking of this impressive ship remains high. It was the era of elegant travel aboard one of  Cunard Line's fastest ships, one of those beautiful ships that regularly used to cross the North Atlantic. World War I had already begun for Europe It was only a few years after the Titanic had hit that fateful iceberg. Our questions abound, and  Erik Larson, who you may remember from In the Garden of Beasts or Devil in the White City,  once again writes a nonfiction book that has us on the edge of our seats. And, of course, there is the local connection: Elbert Hubbard of East Aurora, the father of the Roycroft movement, makes a small appearance as a passenger on the Lusitania. We have much to talk about.


Judy Brodie, lifetime member of TYC, has graciously volunteered to host the meeting. Please call her at 716-688-5224 or email her at jsbrod0804@aol.com to let her know that you will be attending. She will be happy to give you directions if you need them. See you there!



Second Selection  May 15th 

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

Meeting May 15th at the TYC Clubhouse

from 12:00-1:00 p.m.  

 

 

  The Nightingale  comes highly recommended by several TYC members. The book focuses on the story of two sisters living in France during the German occupation of World War II.  It is one of those books that lets us experience a life we have not lived, but allows us to consider the choices and decisions we might have made at such a time.  We look forward to another good discussion.
 


Third Selection  June 12th 
 Orphans and Inmates by Rosemary Higgins

Meeting June 12th 
 TYC Clubhouse     12:00-1:00 p.m.
 


 We selected this book in part for its local connection--the author is a graduate of U.B.  and the story takes place in the Canal District of Buffalo in the 1830's, but  the novel is historical fiction filled with lively characters set against the backdrop of the early years of social services for those who were poor, orphaned or labeled insane.  The author's description of the book follows:
"In the spring of 1835, at the pier of Buffalo's Canal District, the most dangerous square mile in developing America, 17 year old Ciara Sloane steps onto land, alone, save for her younger sisters, orphaned at sea on the voyage from Ireland." 




Fourth Selection July 17th
Marriage of Opposites by Alice Hoffman 
from 12:00-1:00 p.m. 

 

 Again, this book comes highly recommended by several book club members.  Marriage of Opposites  is described as a " forbidden love story set on the tropical island of St. Thomas about the extraordinary woman who gave birth to painter Camille Pissarro; the Father of Impressionism." It is a compelling tale.

 

 Fifth Selection  August 21  
TYC Clubhouse    12:00-1:00 p.m. 

Me Before You  by Jojo Moyes

 

 This is a book for an August afternoon. Find yourself a place in the shade and settle in with this book. Yes, it is a love story, but it raises some profound questions. There will be plenty to talk about.



Sixth Selection September 11th

Sara and Eleanor by Jan Pottker 
TYC Clubhouse 12:00-1:00 p.m.
 (Please note: This date is correct!) 
 

There are so many books  about Eleanor Roosevelt that we have had a hard time finding just one. Claudia Lewis Del Russo has recommended Sara and Eleanor by Jan Pottker so we are recommending that for the group, but if you would like to read any other book on Eleanor Roosevelt we are sure that it would add even more to the discussion. 

Please note:  This book club meeting is a follow-up to the "portrayal" of Eleanor Roosevelt  by Denise Reichert at  the TYC Tea on Saturday, September 10th. The tea is $14 per person. It begins at 12:30. Please sign up in TYC clubhouse. You can pay at the door, but we need to know how many are coming. :)

File:Franklin D. Roosevelt, Eleanor Roosevelt, Sara Delano Roosevelt, and Mr. and Mrs. James Roosevelt in New York City... - NARA - 197052.jpg 

Eleanor Roosevelt statue at Franklin Roosevelt memorial in Washington, D.C.

 

 

 Seventh Selection  October 16th
12:00 to 1:00 at TYC Clubhouse.
 

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman 

This is a novel about a grumpy old man, but as is the case with all of us, there is more to his story. The book was heartily recommended by several at the book club meeting, who described it as both funny and sad.
 See http://forvo.com/word/ove/#sv to hear it pronounced in Swedish.

We have not met in October in the past, but the group wanted to add a meeting this year so we will see how it works out!

The October 16th meeting was a great success so we will now extend our reading season from May through October with one meeting in February or March. 


 

 

Tuesday, December 16, 2014



Books Read in 2015


The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown

 

 American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

                                                                                          ~Barnes and Noble 

 

 May 24th, 2015    Wild by Cheryl Strayed  12:00-1:00 p.m.

 


“Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail” is at once a breathtaking adventure tale and a profound meditation on the nature of grief and survival. 

                                                    ~from NY Times review


June 7th, 2015    Sold by Patricia McCormick    12:00-1:00 p.m.

 

 

Sold is  the story of a girl named Lakshmi, who grew up in Nepal, but when the family needs money, she is sold into slavery in India. The novel is written in a series of short, vignette-style chapters, from the point of view of the main character.  

 

Mc Cormick is a journalist as well as a novelist.  Her comments on the research that she did for this novel add to an appreciation of the book. The link is:

http://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/authors/interviews/article/2910-children-s-bookshelf-talks-with-patricia-mccormick.html

 

 

July 19th, 2015    Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult      12:00-1:00 p.m.

 

We have not read Jodi Picoult for some time, but this new one seems a good choice for book club.  

 

" For over a decade, Jenna Metcalf obsesses on her vanished mom Alice. Jenna searches online, rereads journals of the scientist who studied grief among elephants. Two unlikely allies are Serenity Jones, psychic for missing people who doubts her gift, and Virgil Stanhope, jaded PI who originally investigated cases of Alice and her colleague. Hard questions and answers."

                                                           ~from Good Reads

  Links to elephants' intelligence: Chris Macleod found this one. It is really incredible.

  Elephants Drawing  

Here is another link:

 Research on elephant intelligence

 

August 16th, 2015  All the Light We Cannot See      12:00-1:00 p.m.       by Anthony Doerr  

 

This is the compelling story of a blind French girl in occupied France during World War II and an orphaned German boy. It is a page turner. 

 

This is a link to a wonderful interview with Doerr 

Click here for interview with Doerr

 

 

September  20th, 2015      Inside the O'Brien's    12:00-1:00 p.m.

                                  by Lisa Genova

 

 

"From award-winning, New York Times bestselling author and neuroscientist Lisa Genova comes a powerful new novel that does for Huntington’s Disease what her debut Still Alice did for Alzheimer’s."